13 Books Worth of Plot Arcs

Jim Butcher is good. I mean, how can you make a plot arc last 13 books? I know, I know, it’s not all the same plot arc but still.

I finished the last installment of the Dresden Files last week (my kids ate pizza for dinner and I ignored them for 6 hours straight on the day that Amazon delivered Ghost Story to my door – thank you, Dad, for making me read so much as a kid so I could read so fast as an adult!) and one of the things I really appreciated is how many characters and plot elements he resurected from past books. He does this in every book, but some of the cameos in Ghost Story were really unexpected (Demonreach? Really?).

I’ve always been mystified by how Butcher manages to keep so many subplots afloat in his novels. And they all come together at the last minute and I rarely feel like it’s contrived or gimmicky. And it’s just really impressive. So imagine my delight when a random google search led me to a series of articles he put up on LiveJournal a few years ago about his writing process! Super interesting. Read them – no, really.

Jim’s LiveJournal

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflection, Uncategorized, Writing Craft

Leave a Reply

